20130111-174256.jpg

After their much hyped hiatus, the Black Crowes are finally returning this spring for a UK and US tour. I snagged my ticket this morning…Friday, April 12th at the Electric Factory in Philadelphia. I first saw the band in 1991, shortly after their debut, Shake Your Money Maker started to gain recognition. They opened for ZZ Top at the now demolished Philadelphia Spectrum. It was groovy love at first sight for the Robinson Brothers and company, and I have attended several shows during their always funky, and sometimes bumpy, 20+ year journey. After nine studio and four live albums, the Black Crowes still maintain their free spirited indie status and almost rebellious artistic freedom.

20130111-184142.jpg

The last show I attended was on October 17, 2010 at the intimate Count Basie Theatre in Red Bank, NJ. It was an amazing performance highlighted by the rowdy opening cover of Joe Cocker’s Give Peace a Chance, a haunting rendition of Lou Reed’s Oh Sweet Nuthin’, sung by Rich Robinson, and a totally jammed out version of one of my favorites, Thorn In My Pride. Of course, they rocked out on all of the usual suspects, including Hard To Handle, Jealous Again, She Talks To Angels, and Wiser Time.

I am totally stoked for this April show. One thing I can honestly say is that the Black Crowes never disappoint. I hope to hear a little Soul Singing.

Thanks for stopping by!

Shanti,
Erin

