20121220-220851.jpg

It just does not feel like Christmas without the scent of baked goods in the air. I truly enjoy baking, and I often give handmade treats as gifts. I have a few recipes that I have made consistently through the years, but I am also always on the lookout for something new and fun.

20121220-221742.jpg

I have been making my Caramel Crunch Mix for almost fifteen years! It is one of my most highly requested (and fortunately easy) recipes!

9 cups Crispix Cereal
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup light corn syrup (I always use Karo)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup dry roasted and salted almonds

1. Place cereal in large microwave safe bowl.

2. Place brown sugar, butter, and corn syrup in 2 cup glass measuring cup. Microwave on high for 2 minutes, stirring after each minute, until melted and smooth. Stir in baking soda until dissolved. Pour caramel over cereal and stir until evenly coated.

3. Microwave uncovered on high for 5-6 minutes, stirring and scraping bowl every minute, just until cereal begins to brown. Stir in almonds. Pour onto wax-paper lined cookie sheet to cool. Once cool, break apart and store in airtight container.

Adapted from Caramel Crispy Chex Mix Recipe

20121220-223737.jpg

I am proud to say that I have actually made a recipe that I pinned on Pinterest! These Chubby Hubby Truffles are as full of chocolate, peanut butter, and pretzel deliciousness as their Ben & Jerry’s ice cream namesake. I found this particular recipe from Brown Eyed Baker to be simple, as well as yummy:

http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2011/11/30/peanut-butter-pretzel-truffles/

20121220-224157.jpg

Didn’t I also mention sugar plums in the beginning of this post? A nice complement to these decadent treats is a sweet fruit wine. I love this NJ Sugar Plum Wine from Heritage Vineyards. They are located in Southern New Jersey, in Gloucester County, near Mullica Hill. If you are unable to visit their winery, you can also pick up a bottle at your local Canal’s Liquor Mart.

Eat, drink, and be merry this holiday season!

Shanti,
~Erin

